Top Menu

Summer Workshop Scholarships

Summer Workshop Scholarships

Early Music America offers scholarships annually to students at all levels of experience to support attendance at early music workshops in the United States and Canada. 

2019 Scholarship Recipients

Andrew Truskowski, natural horn

Level 1 Scholarship

Workshop: Indiana University Natural Horn Workshop

David Beklovski, harpsichord

Level 2 Scholarship

Workshop: Domaine Forget (Chamber Orchestra and Continuo)

Alyssa Campbell, violin

Level 2 Scholarship

Workshop: Berwick Academy

Brenda Koh, violin

Level 2 Scholarship

Workshop: American Bach Soloists Academy

Peter Lim, harpsichord

Level 2 Scholarship

Workshop: Tafelmusik Summer Baroque Music Institute

Sinead White, soprano

Level 2 Scholarship

Workshop: Boston Early Music Festival Young Artist Training Program

Application Process

There are two types of scholarships offered for summer workshops: 

Level 1 Scholarships: For students seeking to develop skills and gain experience in early music performance, typically as part of a broader musical education.

Level 2 Scholarships: For advanced students already experienced in the study and performance of early music, typically aspiring to a professional level of attainment.

Students must choose either Level 1 or Level 2 when applying for each workshop. You are not eligible to submit the same workshop application for both levels. Please note, we have two separate application forms for Level 1 and Level 2.


Applications are open to high school, undergraduate, or graduate students.
Students must be enrolled full-time during the spring term of the application deadline.
Early Music America membership is required of all applicants. Historical performance students qualify for a one-year complimentary student membership. If you are unsure of your membership status, please email
2018 EMA Summer Scholarships recipients will not be eligible to apply for the same level in 2019 and can re-apply again for funding in 2020. However, 2018 Level 1 recipients can apply for a Level 2 scholarship in 2019.

Application Instructions and Information

Completed online application forms must be submitted by Monday, April 8, 2019 at 11:59 PM ET.
Letter of recommendation must be submitted by Friday, April 12, 2019 at 11:59 PM ET.
Students can submit an application for more than one workshop. If you are applying for multiple workshops, you must submit a separate application for each workshop.
While the monetary amounts of these scholarships are set, the number of scholarships awarded will be determined by the judges based on the applicant pool received. Level 1 Scholarships: $1,000; Level 2 Scholarships: $1,250
Award announcements will be made by Friday, May 3, 2019.
Questions may be sent to EMA at

We highly encourage you to submit your application several days prior to the deadline, so we can resolve any issues in a timely matter. We will not be able to accept any applications after the deadline has passed.

Materials to be Submitted

Contact Information
Education Information
Workshop Information
Personal Essay
Letter of Recommendation
Music Selections
List of Works Performed in #6

The application period is now closed for Summer Workshop Scholarships. Please check back for updates in January 2020.

Past recipients


Darina Ablongina
Butter Quartet
Margaret Carpenter-Haigh
Marilyn Winkle
Shuang Yu


Veronika Anissimova
Maximilien Brisson
Gemma Goday Díaz-Corralejo
Joseph Harris
Liz Vivian Loayaza Herrera
Hanbyeol Lee
Carter Tholl
Zuguang Xiao
Sydney ZumMallen


Mary Arendt
Sarah Bliele
Katherine Boardman
Joyce Chen
Jena Gardner
Chloe Kim
Maryse Legault
Nicholas Loucks
Marie Nadeau-Tremblay


Jessica Korotkin
Daniel Mireles
Jonathan Slade
Alice Culin-Ellison
Sarah Lodico
Arnie Tonimoto
David Dickey
Bryan Lane
Aryeh Nussbaum Cohen


Michael Manning
Mariana Mevans
Arian Vriens
Sallynee Amawat
Amy Belknap
Cynthia Black
Christopher Grills
Joshua Romatowski
Corey Shotwell


Gabriel Benton
Vanessa Castillo
Ryan Gallagher
Fiona Gillespie
Heather Holmquest
Sarah Huebsch
Joseph Monticello
Andrew Padgett
Alize Rozsnyai
James Williamson


Megan Chartrand
Carlos Cuestas
Ching Yi Denise Fan
Brennan Hall
Allen Hamrick
Lindsay McIntosh
Lindsey McLennan
Michael Pecak
Annabeth Shirley
Christine Wilkinson


Gabriel Benton
Shin Hwang
Emily Lau
Sarah Meyer
Jessica Petrus
Maria Raffaele
John Romey
Niccolo Seligmann
Amy Shen
Beilang Zhu


Liliana Castelblanco
Laura Cleveland
Caitlin Dawson
Lucy Fitz Gibbon
Ariana Mason
Maria Jose Romero
Robert Warner


Michel Angers
Bryan Duerfeldt
Stephen Gamboa
Salome Sandoval McNutt
Ka-Wai Yu
Patrick Jones
Sian Ricketts


Andrew Arceci
Lydia Brotherton
Hélène Brunet
Luke Conklin
James Augustine “Gus” Mercante


Suzanne Anderson
Hsuan Chang
Paul Kieffer
Andrew Fouts
Alexa Raine-Wright


Adam Bregman
Janelle Davis
Dianna Grabowski
Everett Redburn
Yulia Van Doren


Dalyn Cook
Yura Nakajima
Laura Osterlund


Brandi Berry
Liam Byrne
Debra Nagy


Mahan Esfahani
David Giusti
Andrew Levy


Ghislaine Deschambault
Charlotte Dobbs
John Rush


Benjamin Katz
Vivien Shotwell
Hideki Yamaya


Felix Deak
Daphna Mor
Joanna Morton
Adam Pearl


Risa Kawabata
Alicia Kravitz
Ilya Poletaev


Fania Schwebel
Héctor Sequera

Early Music America

Welcome back, please sign in:

Lost your password?
Not a Member? Join Today!
*Current EMA Members & EMAg Subscribers were sent specific instructions from our office on how to set up their new online account. Previous four digit usernames and passwords associated with our old website are no longer valid.
If you did not receive those instructions, please email Thank you!