2022-2023 EPLC Members

Julia Bengtsson
Ibis Laurel Betancourt
Thomas Carroll
Chan Wei En
Theodore Cheek
Teresa Deskur
Patricia García Gil

Sophie Genevieve Lowe
Shelby Mass, Chair
Ashley Mulcahy
Curtis Pavey
Christopher Short
Edna Stroinsky
Leah Weitzner

The EPLC is a committee of young professionals who serve the field of early music by working with the EMA staff and Board of Directors to encourage the development of programming and resources for emerging artists and professionals. Past EPLC projects include hosting networking events at the Boston, Berkeley and Bloomington Early Music Festivals, developing a resource packet for establishing a non-profit or ensemble, developing a fund to assist artists and ensembles with travel to EMA’s summer programming.

The EPLC is committed to inclusion, diversity, equity, and accessibility and building a diverse council.


The Emerging Professional Leadership Council (EPLC) provides young professionals valuable non-profit board experience by working alongside the board of Early Music America to support and advocate for the next generation of early music professionals, performers, scholars, patrons and enthusiasts in North America.

If you have comments or questions for members of EPLC, Contact EMA.

Faces of EMA

Each week, new member of the Early Music community is featured on Instagram at @facesofema, a project coordinated by EPLC. You can nominate a friend or colleague using the ’22-’23 nomination form below.

EPLC presents Early Music: the Americas

Peter Thacher and the Viol in Colonial Massachusetts

Massachusetts is full of lovingly preserved homes from the 17th century. But what did life in these homes sound like? The latest essay in ‘Early Music: the Americas’ explores the world of a Puritan reverend who left us tantalizing clues.

Timothy Olmsted, “the Mozart of America”

Timothy Olmsted found his voice as a fifer and bandsman in the Revolutionary War, and he would go on to pioneer musical freelancing in the young Republic.

Juan Gutiérrez de Padilla, Master of Music in New Spain

The music of Juan Gutiérrez de Padilla, perhaps the most prolific and important composer in Spanish Colonial America, has been remarkably well preserved. He’s our best source on the role of the vernacular ‘villancicos’ in New Spain’s Christmas celebrations.

Rayner Taylor and the ‘Immigrant School’ of the Early Republic

Rayner Taylor, by his training and contacts, brought to the cultural landscape of the nascent United States the highest levels of musical education and stylistic perspective. Taylor composed chamber music that catered to the growing musical marketplace (sonatas, popular arrangements, songs) and also larger-scale symphonic works.

Scroll to Top