Top Menu



Featured (Header)


Featured News Slide



Main News Block List



Baroque singer Amanda Forsythe is drawn to glamour

Some singers credit managerial help for their rise to the top. Amanda Forsythe, in contrast, has actual bloodsuckers to thank. She can pinpoint the exact moment when she opted for a career in music—and it did not happen while basking in the spotlight’s acclaim. Instead, it came when she was tired, w …

Source: The Georgia Straight. Published: September 14, 2016.


Scotland’s First Opera Coming To Life in Chicago

The Bach and Beethoven Ensemble, based in Chicago, will present the first U.S. performances of “The Gentle Shepherd” since 1798 on Sept. 24 and 25 at two locations. The opera’s libretto, published in 1725 by the poet Allan Ramsay, is set to Scottish folk and fiddle music. A period-instrument orchest …

Source: Early Music America. Published: September 15, 2016.

PENOBSCOT, MAINE -- 08/11/16 -- Leslie Ross works on Aug. 11 in her bassoon fabrication studio at her home near the shore of Northern Bay in Penobscot. Micky Bedell | BDN

This Maine Woman Has Made Nearly 300 (Early) Bassoons

If there is such a thing as a typical person who makes bassoons from scratch, Leslie Ross would not be it. She does not make modern bassoons, which first were developed in the late 19th century, are made strictly from maple, and have an interior lining of hard rubber. Ross makes replicas of historic …

Source: Bangor Daily News. Published: September 7, 2016.


Medieval songs reflect humor in amorous courtships, Stanford scholar finds

Medieval courtship brings to mind images of chivalrous knights worshipping fair damsels, expressing their love for their ladies in refined and poetic language. But courtship did not play out this way for all medieval knights. Neidhart von Reuental (1190-1237), a medieval German poet, composed songs …

Source: Stanford News. Published: August 31, 2016.

EMA Slide

CD Releases

New Releases

More Releases



Have an interesting article or information about your organization to share?
Send it to EMA!

Want to share an upcoming CD release with the community? Use our recording submission form!






Early Music America

Welcome back, please sign in:

Lost your password?
Not a Member? Join Today!
*Current EMA Members & EMAg Subscribers were sent specific instructions from our office on how to set up their new online account. Previous four digit usernames and passwords associated with our old website are no longer valid.
If you did not receive those instructions, please email Thank you!