Thomas Binkley Award

This award honors individuals who, in their roles as leaders of collegiate early-music ensembles, have made outstanding contributions to the study and performance of early music.

This award is named for the legendary lutenist and educator Thomas Binkley, who taught at the Schola Cantorum Basiliensis, made ground-breaking recordings with the Studio der Frühen Musik, and served as founding director of the Early Music Institute (now Historical Performance Institute) at Indiana University.

Nominations are welcome through June 3, 2024

2023 Recipient: Lindsey Macchiarella

I am truly honored to receive this award, which has been given to so many people I look up to – incredible musicians, educators, friends, and mentors who have been my models in music education. What I love most about early music is the community, and I’m so proud to be a part one as vivid, warm, inspiring as this one. I look forward to a lifetime of music-making with my students and friends, and to continuing my work as a director and educator in the spirit of the EMA. – Lindsey Macchierella

Lindsey Macchiarella is musicologist and assistant professor of instruction at the University of Texas at El Paso, where she teaches music history, recorder, and viola da gamba. She is founder and director of the UTEP Early Music Ensemble and the UTEP Collegium Musicum, and she performs with Sprezzatura, an El Paso-based early music ensemble. In addition to university education, outreach is her passion, and she regularly engages with the public through free early music lectures and recitals in concert halls, libraries, churches, and bars. She serves on the board of directors for the Viola da Gamba Society of America, and is the project director of the Early Music Latin America Festival, a free workshop and concert funded by the National Endowment for the Arts, which will take place in March, 2024.

Lindsey Macchiarella’s UTEP Faculty Page

Past Recipients

  • 2022: Anne Azéma
  • 2021: Gwyn Roberts
  • 2020: Kenneth Kreitner
  • 2019: Eric Rice
  • 2018: Risa Browder and John Moran
  • 2017: Angela Mariani
  • 2016: Julie Andrijeski
  • 2015: Paul O’Dette and Christel Thielman
  • 2014: Adam and Rotem Gilbert
  • 2013: Robert Eisenstein
  • 2012: Arthur Haas
  • 2011: Wendy Gillespie
  • 2010: William Mahrt
  • 2009: Steven Plank
  • 2008: Hank Knox
  • 2007: Sarah Mead
  • 2006: James Tyler
  • 2005: Ross Duffin
  • 2004: Robert Mealy
  • 2003: Jeffery T. Kite-Powell
  • 2002: Gerald Hoekstra
  • 2001: Mark Cudek
  • 2000: Lyle Nordstrom
  • 1999: Jack Ashworth
  • 1998: Daniel M. Johnson

Scroll to Top