Debut CD ‘Whispers of Tradition’ from Recorder Player Max Volbers

With his debut CD Whispers of Tradition on GENUIN, recorder player Max Volbers presents “a stylistically varied program with two concertos, a world premiere, music with variable continuo instruments, and consort music. These are either paraphrases, series of variations, arrangements, pasticcios, etc. of my own – or, as in the case of the Dieupart suite, they are arranged by the composer himself for the recorder. Thanos Sakellaridis wrote the piece “Please enter the Underground” for Elisabeth and myself. What unites all the pieces is the joy of discovery and the desire to create new repertoire for the recorder.”Along with 11 musicians and with a total of 26 different instruments, including various recorders, archlute, harpsichord, violin, viola da gamba, the winner of the Deutscher Musikwettbewerb 2021 Max Volbers, who studied with Dorothee Oberlinger among others, explores the wide range of the recorder repertoire and shows “in how many different types of ensembles the recorder can be used, and also the roles that it plays in them“.

The recording will be released on 7 October on GENUIN. More information about Max Volbers can be found here:

Johann Sebastian Bach: Pasticcio Concerto per Flauto in C Major (arr. Max Volbers)
01 Allegro
02 Siciliano. Adagio
03 Allegro(after) Claudio Monteverdi
04 Sonata sopra „Hor che’l ciel e la terra“

Giovanni Perluigi da Palestrina
05 Pulchra es amica mea

Thanos Sakkelaridis
06 Please enter the underground

(after) Henry Purcell

07 Fantasie on Mr. Purcells Chacony from the Fairy Queen

Charles Dieupart: Troisieme Suite
08 Ouverture
09 Allemande
10 Courante
11 Sarabande. Grave
12 Gavotte
13 Menuet Serieux
14 Gigue

Giovanni Perluigi da Palestrina
15 Vestiva i colli

Johann Hermann Schein
16 Lehre uns bedenken

Antonio Vivaldi: Concerto per Flautino in G major after RV 312
17 Allegro molto
18 Larghetto
19 Allegro

Recorder player, harpsichordist, and ensemble leader Max Volbers is one of the most versatile young musicians in the field of early music. As a multi-instrumentalist, he explores the early music repertoire from a variety of perspectives while also devoting himself to new music and regularly collaborating with composers on commissioned works. He studied at the Mozarteum University Salzburg with Dorothee Oberlinger, Walter van Hauwe, Reinhard Goebel, and Florian Birsak. As a prizewinner of the Deutscher Musikwettbewerb, among others, he is a welcome guest at the Verbier Festival, the Heidelberger Frühling, the Sansscouci Music Festival, the Ludwigsburg Schlossfestspiele or the Innsbruck Festival of Early Music. He plays equally well with ensembles such as La Cetra or the Capricornus Consort as well as with “modern” orchestras such as the Stuttgart Chamber Orchestra, the Munich Philharmonic, the NDR Radiophilharmonie or the Musikkollegium Winterthur.

Scroll to Top