Annual Workshop Scholarships

Early Music America offers a limited number of scholarships each year to support attendance at early-music workshops in North America.

The following scholarships are offered annually
– EMA Workshop Scholarships of up to $1,250
– EMA-IDEA Workshop Scholarship of $1,500 specifically intended to support a member of the BIPOC community specializing in historical performance practice throughout North, Central and South America.
Applicants may apply for one or both scholarships using a single application form submission.

Applications are welcome March to early April each year. More details are available in the Application Process section below.

2023 EMA Workshop Scholarship Recipients

Darius “Seiko” Elmore

Countertenor, Rochester, NY

Music Wellness, Operatic Acting & Performance Workshop

Claire McCahan

Mezzo-soprano, Plymouth, NH

American Bach Soloists ACADEMY

Matthew Muggeridge

Countertenor, Ottawa, ON

Tafelmusik Summer Baroque Institute

Rylie Patching

Baroque bassoon, Seattle, WA

Amherst Early Music Festival Baroque Academy

Macarena Sanchez

Baroque cello, Cleveland Heights, OH

American Bach Soloists ACADEMY

Fernando Santiago

Baroque violin, São Paulo, Brazil

Oregon Bach Festival Berwick Academy

Emma Simmons

Baroque violin, Eugene, OR

Tafelmusik Summer Baroque Institute

Nicole Vega

Baroque violin, Santiago, Chile

Tafelmusik Summer Baroque Institute

Juan Pablo Vélez

Baritone, Medellín, Colombia

Oberlin Baroque Performance Institute

2023 EMA-IDEA Workshop Scholarship Recipients

Liz Loayza-Herrea

Baroque Violin, La Paz, Bolivia

Oregon Bach Festival Berwick Academy

María Pilar Moreira

María Pilar Moreira

Baroque flute, Olivos, Argentina

Amherst Early Music Festival Baroque Academy


  • Applicants must reside in North, Central and South America at the time of submission.
  • Award recipients are ineligible to apply until the second year following their award. (Ex. 2023 Scholarship recipients will be eligible to apply again in 2025.)
  • Current EMA Board and Staff members are ineligible to apply

Materials to be Submitted

  • Contact Information
  • Voice or Instrument Specialization
  • Number of Years of Study
  • Workshop Information
    • Applicants may submit an application for up to three workshops.
    • Workshop Name
    • Workshop Location
    • Sponsoring Organization
    • Workshop Dates
    • Workshop Tuition
    • Estimated Cost of Food, Lodging, and Travel for workshop.
  • Short Personal Essay (1,000 words max in English, Spanish, or Portuguese)
    • Please provide a brief personal essay describing 1) your musical background, 2) your specific experience with early music, 3) how the further exploration of early music performance, including attendance at the workshop(s) named above, will enhance your development as a musician, and 4) how the financial assistance would impact your ability to attend these workshops.
  • Up to 10 minutes of video demonstrating your early music performance skills submitted as video links.
    • List of works performed

Application Instructions and Information

  • The application form will open in early 2024
  • Applicants will use the application form linked below to apply for both the EMA Workshop Scholarship and the EMA-IDEA Workshop Scholarship. Only one submission is necessary. Applicants will indicate on the application form which scholarship(s) they are applying for.
  • The 2024 application deadline will be in late March.
    • Applicants are highly encouraged to submit the application several days prior to the deadline, so any issues or errors may be resolved in a timely matter. Applications will not be accepted after the deadline.
  • Recipients will be contacted in late April/early May. All applicants will be notified whether they receive a scholarship or not.
  • Scholarship recipients are required to submit a final reflection (in English, Spanish, or Portuguese), including high resolution video or photos taken during the workshop, no more than 30 days following completion of their workshop(s) funded through this scholarship.

Please note: the total scholarship amount disbursed to an individual will be no more than $1,250 (EMA Scholarship) or $1,500 (EMA-IDEA Scholarship), regardless of the number of workshops entered in the application.

Questions about this application may be sent to


Patricía García Gil
Ela Kodžas
Daniel Koplitz
Guannan (Alice) Liu
Chaeyoung Park
Stephanie Rempel
Guillermo Salas-Suárez

No scholarships awarded


David Beklovski
Alyssa Campbell
Brenda Koh
Peter Lim
Andrew Truskowski
Sinéad White


Darina Ablogina
Butter Quartet
Margaret Carpenter-Haigh
Marylin Winkle
Shuang Yu 


Veronika Anissimova
Maximilien Brisson
Gemma Goday Díaz-Corralejo
Joseph Harris
Liz Vivian Loayaza Herrera
Hanbyeol Lee
Carter Tholl
Zuguang Xiao
Sydney ZumMallen 


Mary Arendt
Sarah Bliele
Katherine Boardman
Joyce Chen
Jena Gardner
Chloe Kim
Maryse Legault
Nicholas Loucks
Marie Nadeau-Tremblay 


Jessica Korotkin
Daniel Mireles
Jonathan Slade
Alice Culin-Ellison
Sarah Lodico
Arnie Tanimoto
David Dickey
Bryan Lane
Aryeh Nussbaum Cohen 


Michael Manning
Mariana Mevans
Arian Vriens
Sallynee Amawat
Amy Belknap
Cynthia Black
Christopher Grills
Joshua Romatowski
Corey Shotwell 


Gabriel Benton
Vanessa Castillo
Ryan Gallagher
Fiona Gillespie
Heather Holmquest
Sarah Huebsch
Joseph Monticello
Andrew Padgett
Alize Rozsnyai
James Williamson 


Megan Chartrand
Carlos Cuestas
Ching Yi Denise Fan
Brennan Hall
Allen Hamrick
Lindsay McIntosh
Lindsey McLennan
Michael Pecak
Annabeth Shirley
Christine Wilkinson 


Gabriel Benton
Shin Hwang
Emily Lau
Sarah Meyer
Jessica Petrus
Maria Raffaele
John Romey
Niccolo Seligmann
Amy Shen
Beiliang Zhu 


Liliana Castelblanco
Laura Cleveland
Caitlin Dawson
Lucy Fitz Gibbon
Ariana Mason
Maria Jose Romero
Robert Warner 


Michel Angers
Bryan Duerfeldt
Stephen Gamboa
Salome Sandoval McNutt
Ka-Wai Yu
Patrick Jones
Sian Ricketts


Andrew Arceci
Lydia Brotherton
Hélène Brunet
Luke Conklin
James Augustine “Gus” Mercante


Suzanne Anderson
Hsuan Chang
Paul Kieffer
Andrew Fouts
Alexa Raine-Wright 


Adam Bregman
Janelle Davis
Dianna Grabowski
Everett Redburn
Yulia Van Doren 


Dalyn Cook
Yura Nakajima
Laura Osterlund 


Brandi Berry
Liam Byrne
Debra Nagy 


Mahan Esfahani
David Giusti
Andrew Levy 


Ghislaine Deschambault
Charlotte Dobbs
John Rush 


Benjamin Katz
Vivien Shotwell
Hideki Yamaya 


Felix Deak
Daphna Mor
Joanna Morton
Adam Pearl 


Risa Kawabata
Alicia Kravitz
Ilya Poletaev 


Fania Schwebel
Héctor Sequera

Early Music America also offers biennial scholarships to support advanced study in the early music field. Learn more.

Scroll to Top